3 Weeks Out

5 YEARS AGO I went to Ecuador for the second time and got to experience standing in the middle of the two hemispheres (pictured). That was definitely a once in a lifetime opportunity, however, those two trips to Ecuador were where the Lord laid upon my heart international missions and serving those in Latin America.


I can’t wait to see how He’s going to use me and my teammate Rachel in Mexico! Please continue to keep the both of us in your prayers as the day for us leaving is quickly approaching!

Here are some specific ways you can be praying for us this week:
1. Nerves. The day is coming where we will essentially be leaving our families for 4 months to move to another country and live together. We’ve never met each other, but we know that the Lord has placed us together for a reason and we’re both looking forward to seeing how He is going to use us.

2. Our parents. Our parents are letting their children go to another part of the world for a whole 4 months. While I’m not a parent, I can only imagine how nerve-wracking it can be, especially with how the world is today. Pray for them, that their nerves would be calmed and that there would be a peace that comes over them as we begin to pack our things up and get ready to transition.

3. Language barriers. While Spanish is the main language where we will be going to in Mexico, there are other indigenous languages that we will encounter where there will be a huge language barrier and miscommunication. Pray that there will be patience between both parties while working together with the people in these villages (Rachel and myself and also the village people).

4. Travel safety. This is kinda huge. I wouldn’t say that I’ve traveled a ton, but I’ve been overseas before. One of the things that I’m most nervous about is traveling by myself before I meet up with Rachel. Pray that the Lord would keep the both of us safe as we travel to Peru where we’ll be having an orientation type of week before we both head to Mexico together. Pray that there won’t be plane complications (whether that be delays, maintenance issues, etc.). Also be praying that we’ll be on time for everything and that none of our luggage will be lost amidst the traveling to and from different countries and that there won’t be any complications with customs.

5. Lastly, be praying that we will continue to spiritually prepare ourselves for this trip. Everything we say and do on this trip (and the rest of our lives) needs to be God-glorifying. We are there to build relationships with people and the goal is for those people to see Christ in us. Pray that starting today, we will be doing what we can do be displaying Christ through us in our families, work and church.

Thank you all so much for your love, prayer and support. I truly appreciate it from the bottom of my heart and I can’t wait to come back and tell everyone what the Lord has done in Mexico during my time there. My goal is post a blog post once a week. So bare with me if that doesn’t happen. I plan on posting updates as much as I can. Have a great week yall!

Juan 3:16 Porque tanto amó Dios al mundo, que dio a su Hijo, unigénito, para que todo el que cree en él no se pierda, sino que tenga vida eterna // John 3:16 For God so loved the world that He gave his only Son, that whoever should believe in Him should not perish but have eternal life.

Author: humbledsojourner

I'm a 23 year old college graduate from Louisville, KY. A sinner saved by grace and continually being sanctified through every day life and trials. I am by no means perfect, but I continually strive to be more and more like Jesus every day. My prayer is that this blog will allow friends and family to follow my journey for the next four months while I'm in Mexico teaching English and maybe somehow be used to further the Gospel here in the states as well. Matthew 28:18-20 Acts 1:8

Leave a Reply

