The Final Countdown Begins…

My official countdown I have on my computer says “6 days, 14 hours, 8 minutes and 12 seconds” as I’m typing this out. It hit me today as I was out with one of my roommates that this time next week I will be with my teammate Rachel on a plane fixin to land in  PERU for our 5 day training/orientation.  It didn’t necessarily stress me out or overwhelm me, but it made me realize that I need to take these next days, hours, minutes and seconds very seriously before I leave.

Yesterday, one of my very best friends’ daddy’s lost his battle with cancer, but won eternity with Jesus. Her family is in so much pain losing a father, husband, best friend, grandfather, teacher, pastor and son. My heart is breaking with them, but I know as much as they do that he is healed. He no longer has to suffer through the brain tumor that overtook his body. He is singing and praising the name of Jesus and he gets to do that for all eternity. One day, they will join with him because they share the same faith in Christ that he did and that is why they do not grieve as others grieve.

All this to say, I’m excited to be leaving to share the good news of Jesus in Mexico while teaching English. I’m excited to see how the Lord is going to use myself and Rachel while we’re down there. I want to see people come to know Jesus and have the same hope that my friend and her family do when they lose a very close family member. I want to see people love Jesus so much that they want to do God’s work throughout the world and allow Him to use them for His glory and purpose.

During this next week, I ask that you be praying for a few things…

  1. Be praying for Rachel and I as we say goodbye to friends and family.
  2. Pray that we will be spending these last days, hours, minutes and seconds for the glory of the Lord and be preparing for our time in Mexico.
  3. Pray that our transitions individually and together would be smooth and that there would be no problems with each other or with our families.
  4. Pray for our flights, that they would be uneventful, no incidents (mechanical, people oriented, no delays, weather would cooperate, etc.)
  5. Pray for our time in Peru, this is vital as this is where we’ll be receiving our training for the next four months. Pray that we’ll learn much while we’re there and that we will be able to apply what we learn to the field that we’re going to be on.
  6. Lastly, please be praying for my friend’s family as they’re going through this very difficult time of loss and pain. While they do have that hope, losing a loved one is still very, very difficult.

One more week, y’all! God’s gunna do some great things!

~ Soli Deo Gloria ~

 

Author: humbledsojourner

I'm a 23 year old college graduate from Louisville, KY. A sinner saved by grace and continually being sanctified through every day life and trials. I am by no means perfect, but I continually strive to be more and more like Jesus every day. My prayer is that this blog will allow friends and family to follow my journey for the next four months while I'm in Mexico teaching English and maybe somehow be used to further the Gospel here in the states as well. Matthew 28:18-20 Acts 1:8

Leave a Reply

